/ News / Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Overview

Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Overview

The 2020 Hall of Fame class was the largest induction class in the Pro Football Hall of Fame history.

Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the 2020 class did not celebrate receiving their coveted gold jackets last summer and are instead grouped with the 2021 class.

The 2020 class included 15 Centennial enshrinees, along with 5 modern-era players.

Let’s take a look at the 2020 class as they finally will get the celebratory moment they deserve:

Modern Era Players

Steve Atwater (Safety, Broncos)

Atwater was known for his thunderous hits on wide receivers and was a key player in the Broncos back-to-back Super Bowl wins in the late 90s.

Isaac Bruce (WR, Rams)

Bruce is most known for his time at WR for the Rams when they were known as the “Greatest Show on Turf.”  Bruce, Kurt Warner, and Marshall Faulk lit up the NFL with an explosive offense that helped Bruce record 15,208 career yards with 91 touchdowns

Edgerrin James, (RB, Colts)

James gets to join his former QB, Peyton Manning, in this year’s Canton celebrations as one of the most underrated RB’s of his era. James finished with 12,246 rushing yards and 80 touchdowns with the Colts, Cardinals, and Seahawks.

Steve Hutchinson (G, Vikings, Seahawks)

Hutchinson was one of the best Guards of his era and made the pro bowl seven times over the course of his career. In addition, Hutchinson was a member of the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2000s.

Troy Polamalu (Safety, Steelers)

Polamalu was a staple on the Steelers throughout the 2000s with his noticeable long hair and ability to cover the entire field. Polamalu made 8 Pro Bowls over 12 seasons with the Steelers and had 12 interceptions with 771 tackles.

Centennial Class-Players

Harold Carmichael (WR, Eagles/Cowboys)

Carmichael was a 6’8 and made the pro bowl 4 times throughout his career. He had three 1,000 yard seasons in an era in an era that was dominated by running teams.

Jim Covert (T, Bears)

Covert was a key part of the Bears’ success on the dominant Bears team during the mid-1980s. Covert help leads the Bears to win the rushing title in 4 years as he paved the way for Walter Payton.

Bobby Dillon (S, Packers)

Dillon had 52 interceptions between 1952-1959 for the Packers despite playing with a glass eye.

Cliff Harris (S, Cowboys)

Harris made six Pro Bowls and helped contribute to two Super Bowl titles for the Cowboys over the course of his career.

Winston Hill (T, Jets, Rams)

Hill made 8 Pro-Bowls and played seven seasons in the AFL and eight additional seasons after the NFL/AFL merger. Hill also had a dominating performance in Super Bowl 3.

Alex Karras (DT, Lions)

Karras was a physically dominating player and well-known actor named to the All-Decade team from the 1960s. He made the Pro-Bowl four times despite missing two seasons from a gambling suspension.

Donnie Shell (S, Steelers)

Shell made the Pro Bowl 5 times throughout his career with the Steelers and helped contribute to 4 Super Bowl titles.

Duke Slater (T Badgers, Independents, Cardinals)

Slater was one of the first African American players to play professionally. He played both offense and defense over 10 seasons.

Mac Speedie (WR, Browns)

Speedie averaged 800 yards throughout his seven seasons with the Browns.

Ed Sprinkle (LB, Bears)

Sprinkle was a dominating LB for the Bears during an era when sacks and fumbles were counted as statistics.

Centennial Class-Coaches

Bill Cowher (Steelers)

Cowher went an impressive 149-90-1 over 15 years with the Steelers and led the Steelers to the title in Super XL.

Jimmy Johnson(Cowboys, Dolphins)

Johnson led the Cowboys to back-to-back Super Bowl titles before his infamous battle for power with owner Jerry Jones led to his departure.

Centennial Class-Contributors

Steve Sabol (NFL Films)

Steve and his father, Ed, created NFL films to help bring highlights to fans across the country before cable TV was mainstream.

Paul Tagliabue (Commissioner)

Tagliabue had the tough task of following Pete Rozelle and did an excellent job building the NFL’s brand into the 21st century.

George Young (GM, Colts, Dolphins, Giants)

Young won the Executive of the year award 5 times from his work with the Colts, Dolphins, and Giants.


Find the best sportsbooks online and place your bet for next years Hall of Fame winners.

Provider of the Month
Top Betting Sites
Top Betting Bonuses
Move to Top
Travel to your favourite betting destination using one of our recommended sites
Your Bonus Code:
The bonus offer was already opened in an additional window. If not, you can open it also by clicking the following link:
Visit Site