Germany world cup

Germany news: Low names provisional World Cup squad

1 year ago

In the latest Germany news, head coach Joachim Low has left out Liverpool’s Emre Can and Borussia Dortmund’s Mario Gotze from his provisional 27-man squad for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Midfielder Can is currently on the sidelines after suffering a back injury in March and he looks unlikely to return in time for Liverpool’s Champions League final against Real Madrid on May 26.

Despite being out of action, the 24-year-old, who is out of contract at Anfield this summer, was expected to earn a place in Germany’s squad for the major event in Russia, but this has failed to materialise.

Low, who penned a new contract until 2022 on Tuesday, has also made the bold decision to leave Dortmund ace Gotze, who scored the winning goal in the 2014 World Cup final, out of his plans.

Bayern Munich striker Sandro Wagner, who was expected to battle it out with RB Leipzig’s Timo Werner, who has been included, for the starting spot is another big name that has missed out.

Surprisingly, Freiburg’s Nils Petersen, who is uncapped at senior level, has been included in the provisional squad after scoring 19 times in 35 games for his club this season.

Manuel Neuer, who has been injured for most of the campaign, is one of four goalkeepers named as Low aims to give his number one every chance to prove his fitness ahead of the tournament.

Defending champions Germany, who are 9/2 with bet365 to retain their title, are firm 1/3 favourites to top Group F which includes Mexico, Sweden and South Korea.


Germany provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Bernd Leno, Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Kevin Trapp.

Defenders: Jonas Hector, Jerome Boateng, Matthias Ginter, Mats Hummels, Joshua Kimmich, Antonio Rudiger, Niklas Sule, Jonathan Tah, Marvin Plattenhardt.

Midfielders/Forwards: Julian Draxler, Mario Gomez, Julian Brandt, Leon Goretzka, Ilkay Gundogan, Sami Khedira, Toni Kroos, Thomas Muller, Mesut Ozil, Nils Petersen, Marco Reus, Sebastian Rudy, Leroy Sane, Timo Werner.